George Floyd Response

In the wake of George Floyd‘s murder and the global outrage and awakening that it has created, our senior minister, Simon Harris, speaks with Harold Afflu the senior pastor of Ipswich International church.

Joint Statement from Christian leaders in Ipswich

in response to the killing of George Floyd

Friday 5th June 2020

The killing of George Floyd was a tragic act of violence that has revealed that racial injustices, amongst many other prejudices, are still present throughout society. George Floyd was denied the fundamental right to life, and his killing is an insult to the God-given dignity of every human being. George Floyd’s death has provoked anger across the world and we, as church leaders in Suffolk, join with those who call for justice.

Many people in our community face racial discrimination every day. This discrimination, expressed in many forms, all too often goes unchecked. We must unite to call out racism wherever we see it and hold one another accountable for our words and actions.

We reaffirm our commitment to eradicating all forms of racism in all parts of society because every human life is precious and honoured by God.

We ask you to join us to shine as lights in the darkness, to uncover the forces of prejudice and discrimination that still divide our community.


1. Pastor Harold Afflu (Lead Pastor,Ipswich International Church, Elim)
2. The Rt Revd Martin Seeley (Bishop of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich, Church of England)
3. The Rt Revd Mike Harrison (Bishop of Dunwich, Church of England)

4. Rev. Peterson Anand (Minister of Nansen Road Baptist Church, Ipswich)
5. Rev Nick Atkins (St Matthew’s Church)
6. Derek Austin (Churchwarden, St Mary’s, Witnesham)
7. Jim Bird (Churchwarden, St Martin’s Church, Tuddenham St Martin)
8. Revd Jutta Brueck (St Thomas the Apostle, Ipswich)
9. Jerry Brown (Colchester Road Baptist Church, Ipswich)
10. Revd Andy Buttress (Bridge Church Ipswich)
11. Reverend Lawrence Carey (Triangle Church Ipswich)
12. Rev Stuart Clarke (Moderator, Holly Lodge Baptist Church)
13. Revd Celia Cook (Ipswich Hospital Chaplaincy)
14. Revd Neil Coulson (Christ Church URC/Baptist, Ipswich)
15. Rev Holly Crompton-Battersby (Chaplain, Ipswich School)
16. David Cutts (Vicar St Margaret’s Ipswich)
17. Andrew Docherty (Bethesda Baptist Church)
18. Reverend Julian Fennell (Vicar in the Team of SWITM)
19. Revd Morag Finch (St Elizabeth Hospice)
20. Penny and Paul Finn (Ipswich Vineyard)
21. Rev Alan Forsdike (Chaplain to Inspiring Ipswich)
22. Reverend Susan D Foster (Vicar of Rushmere St Andrew)
23. Simon Harris (Senior Minister, Burlington Baptist Church)
24. Lieutenants Jonathan & Lottie Heward (The Salvation Army, Bramford Road, Ipswich)
25. Revd Robert Hinsley (Team Rector in the South West Ipswich Team Ministry)
26. Revd Fr Alan Hodgson (St Mary’s Catholic Church)
27. Revd Canon Charles Jenkin (Vicar, St Mary-le-Tower church)
28. Amy Key (St Augustine’s)
29. Venerable Rhiannon King (Archdeacon of Ipswich)
30. Major Loes Palmer (Salvation Army, Woodbridge Road)
31. Touch & Favour Malefo (Parish Pastors, Ipswich Trinity Praise Centre)
32. Rev’d Carol Mansell (All Hallows Church, Ipswich)
33. Rev Heather Marsden (Rushmere Baptist Church)
34. Revd Danny Morrison (Vicar, All Saints, Ipswich)
35. Pastor Shirley Powell (Senior Pastor, True Vine Church)
36. Rev David Rees (Ipswich and East United Reformed Churches)
37. Simon Robinson, Minister (Shepherd Drive Baptist Church, Ipswich)
38. Mary Scholey (Churchwarden, St Mary Magdalene Church, Westerfield)
39. The Revd Mary Sokanovic (Priest-In-Charge, Whitton with Thurleston and Akenham)
40. Tom Scrivens (Hope Church Ipswich)
41. Pastor Nathan Simmonds (Bethel Apostolic Church, Ipswich)
42. Rod Stone (Ipswich Community Church)
43. Pastor Myrtle White (Shiloh Church)

And from the Methodist churches in and around Ipswich:

44. Rev Derek Grimshaw 45. Rev Diane Smith 46. Rev Ian Gardner 47. Rev Andrew Sankey 48. Rev Martin Dawes and 49. Rev Joan Pell along with Circuit Stewards: Mr Chris Finbow, Mrs Diana Sawyer, Dr Liz Cope, Mrs Judith Steward, Mrs Elizabeth Storey and Mr Neil Hepplethwaite, representing the Methodist Churches at Alan Road, Bramford, Bramford Road, Brantham, Capel St Mary, Chantry, Chelmondiston, Elmsett, Framlingham, Holbrook, Kirton, Landseer Road, Museum Street, Orford, Seaton Road, Trimley, Trinity Felixstowe and Woodbridge.